Welcome to Chuka University Library. The Library started in the year 2006 in a small temporary room with a seating capacity of 100 and a humble collection of about 200 textbooks which were transferred from the then mother University’s Main Library at Egerton, Njoro.  From the temporary structure the Library moved to a bigger library with a seating capacity of 500.

The Library was established by a senior Library Assistant who was transferred from Egerton University main Library. Currently, Chuka University Library System is decentralized and has six automated branches:

  1. Old Library
  2. Embu Campus Library – Started in November 2016
  3. Faculty of Business Library – Started in September 2017
  4. Igembe Campus Library – Started in March 2018
  5. Faculty of Science Library – Started in May 2018
  6. Faculty of Law Library – Started in October 2019


A Multipurpose Library is scheduled to be constructed soon to cater for the growing university population.